Start by choosing California from the Quick Facts pulldown menu on the left side of the screen. From the California page, choose your city or county from the pulldown menus and click Go.
Click the link labeled "Want more? Browse more data sets for . . . " on the right side of the screen to see detailed information about social, economic, and demographic characteristics. You can also use the Back to Search link at the top of these page to choose from many different topics
Contains a wealth of county-level and (and some city-level) statistics on health care, crime, business, education, etc. From the opening screen, try a keyword search on the name of your city. Do the same with the name of your county. You can also use the California Statistics link to browse the different categories.
RAND US contains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states. The CA collection contains these U.S. databases, plus about 80 detailed databases on California.
Multi-disciplinary, full-text database offering full-text articles, including peer-reviewed titles; also includes indexing and abstracts. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Citations and selected full-text of articles in published in 800 business journals.
Subject coverage includes accounting, acquisitions & mergers, advertising, banking, chemicals and pharmaceuticals, communications, economics, entertainment industry, finance, financial services, government regulations, industrial relations, insurance, international business, investments, marketing, retail trade, small business and much more.
Citations to journal articles and other research in economics (1968 - present)
It provides resources in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
Another good general database that covers all subjects.
Subject coverage includes art, agriculture, applied science, business, current events, education, general science, humanities, law, library sciences, social sciences, technology, and many other fields.
U.S. Newsstream provides access to current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.
Including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune.