University Library Children's Literature Collection: Home

and Dr. Armin R. Schulz Children's Literature Collection

About This Collection

The University Library Children's Collection  provides materials useful for teachers and students working with children and young adults. The collection includes:

  • Picture and story books
  • Folklore and folktales
  •  Young adult literature
  • Non-fiction such as biographies, math and science materials
  • Graphic novels

Some secondary sources, such as lists of best books, books about children's authors and illustrators, reviews, and selection aids are also included in the collection.

This collection is located on the main floor of the library, right in the middle of the information commons area and uses the  Dewey Decimal Classification scheme, the system that is used most often in school and public libraries.

 The major call numbers are

  •  FIC (fiction)
  • BIOG (biography) 
  • EASY (picture books)
  • 000-999 for nonfiction

The Children's Collection also includes a substantial number of books donated by the family of Dr. Armin R. Schulz in July 2011. This collection, comprising 3,145 titles, was the personal library of Dr. Schulz, Professor Emeritus of Teacher Education and inaugural Director of the Joh Stuart Rogers Faculty Development Center at CSU Stanislaus.

Find out more about Dr. Schulz and this collection.

 

Recent Arrivals

Finding Children's Literature


Emergency InformationAccessibility
Campus Home
Search this Site
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map