Skip to main content

Special Collections and University Archives: Collections Descriptions

SPECIAL COLLECTION DESCRIPTIONS (primary collections)

University Archives

The University Archives serves as a repository for materials documenting the history of California State University, Stanislaus and includes retrospective campus publications such as newsletters, catalogs, press releases, photographs, the Signal student newspaper, campus yearbooks, as well as other documents and ephemera representing various campus entities. The archives also holds collections of oral history interviews, audiovisual materials, and campus photographs. The oral history interviews date from the 1980s and represent a cross-section of significant CSU Stanislaus faculty, staff, and administrators. The archives holds one archival copy of each CSU Stanislaus master’s thesis or project. A second circulating copy of Stanislaus master's theses and projects is shelved in the MAIN library collection and can be searched using the library catalog

Rare Book, local history, and fine press book collection

The Special Collections holds a small rare book/ local history collection. Shelved in L201A, this collection of approximately 1000 volumes consists of an array of early printed books dating back to the 17th century. Also incorporated into the collection are more recent titles of special interest to researchers of California and local history. Included here is a representative group of California fine press titles, with a focus on the history of the California and the West generally. Smaller gatherings of poetry chapbooks, tiny books, art volumes, and periodicals round out the collection. Rare and local history titles are included in the library catalog and may be requested and read in the Special Collections Reading Room by appointment.

Dias Photographic Collection

The Dias Photographic Collection contains more than 30,000 prints, slides and negatives of photographs taken by professional photographer Manuel Dias, who worked for the Modesto Bee and the Stanislaus County Office of Education as an aerial photographer, and maintained his own private photography business in Modesto, California. The aerial photography component includes photographs that depict the agriculture, industry, irrigation, recreation, roadways, schools, and urban areas of the San Joaquin Valley.  The Portuguese culture component includes photographs that depict Portuguese culture in the Azores, Portugal, Madeira, California, and Hawaii, with a focus on farming, seafaring, bullfighting, and portraiture. 

 

 Sayad Assyrian Collection

The Assyrian book collection of the Rev. Eshoo Paul Sayad of Turlock, acquired by the CSU Stanislaus library in 1970, includes many rare books about Assyrian religion and culture, from early beginnings in the ancient civilizations of Mesopotamia to modern times in Northwestern Iran. The collection consists of 231 books, including more than 100 books in the Syriac, some English translations, as well as books in English and other languages. The collection is searchable in the Library Catalog.

Stanislaus Region History and Culture Image Collection 

Over 260 digitized historical photographs, plus images of a Turlock commemorative scrapbook, that are fully searchable online, are available through the Stanislaus Region History and Culture Image Collection. As part of the library's Special Collections, these works illustrate the history of Turlock, Stanislaus County, and the Central Valley region. This collection is accessible through either of the two following California archive portals: Calisphere or OAC - the Online Archive of California.  These photographs are part of a larger collection of historic Turlock photos not included in the digital collection; please inquire to view these original photographic materials.

HISTORIC NEWSPAPER COLLECTION

This is a collection of print newspapers dating back to 1870's, including the very early Stanislaus County newspapers, Tuolumne City News and The Stanislaus County Weekly News, together with the several precursor titles of the modern-day Modesto Bee. The collection also includes an early print-run of the Sacramento Reporter, together with early newspaper-runs representing several Stanislaus County towns and villages, including Ceres, Hughson, and Denair. A full archive of The Turlock Journal, and its predecessor titles, is available on microfilm in the Periodicals stacks of the library. A collection of California newspaper specimens, including special supplements and extra issues round out the Historic Newspaper Collection. The condition the papers ranges from excellent to very fragile. 

 

 

Stanislaus ScholarWorks Repository

Stanislaus ScholarWorks is the digital repository of the California State University, Stanislaus campus. The Repository serves as a digital archive that collects, preserves, and distributes digital material pertinent to CSU Stanislaus.

Includes a search feature to locate digital documents in the following categories:

Digital Stanislaus

Faculty Scholarship

Student Scholarship

SPECIAL COLLECTONS DIRECTORY , CSU

Diretory of Special Collections

Stanislaus Region History and Culture Image Collection

CalisphereOAC


Emergency InformationAccessibility
Campus Home
Search this Site
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map