Skip to main content

PSCI 4640 International Security (Prof. Conteh): Home

Finding books

The OneSearch box can be limited to CSU Stanislaus books & Media, which includes all titles in this library, including many digital books.  To retrieve lists of books, use keywords such as: 

  • human rights 
  • global security 
  • international gender equality

If results are too general, try more narrowly focused keywords:

  • Malaysia free speech   
  • Syria gender equality   
  • Doctors without Borders    
  • United Nations refugees

If a book is in print, a librarian can help you find it on the shelf with the location (main stacks, reference, new book, etc.) and call number information.

If you want more, search OneSearch expanded to CSU+, which includes the print holdings of all the CSU libraries.  Items ordered arrive within 2-3 days.

If you want even more, search WorldCat.  Use Inter Library Loan to order anything there not more locally available (a librarian can help).

Finding Articles

Library databases index articles, and often link to the full text that the library has purchased.  If we don't have the full text, you can order it from Interlibrary Loan, which takes up to 3 days.  A librarian can help you with Interlibrary Loan.

Most databases are discipline-specific:

Some databases are interdisciplinary

To search, use focused keywords and try different synonyms for your keywords.  Learn better terminology in a good article and use that for even better search results. 

PDF or HTML links in the database lead to full text.  Alternatively, the Find It button will search for the article in our other databases.  If it doesn't find it, it will suggest Interlibrary Loan.  A librarian can help you with all of your research questions.

 


Emergency InformationAccessibility
Campus Home
Search this Site
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map