Skip to main content

Careers Resources: Home

Academic Success Center Collection of Career Resources

Web sites

Occupational Outlook Handbook

State of California Careers

Stanislaus County Job listings

Exam Prep Resources

CSET California Subject Matter Examination for Teachers: Multiple Subjects.  Reference LB1766 .C74 P67 2010

Cracking the CBEST.  Reference LB3060.33 .C34 S58 2015

Cracking the GRE.  Reference LB2367.4 .P54x 2014

Cracking the CBEST.  Reference LB3060.33 .C34 S58 2015

MAT Miller Analogies Test.  Reference LB2367.6 .B47 2011

Princeton Review Complete MCAT.  Reference R838.5 .P75x 2014

 

 

 

Resume and Interview

From resumes to dress attire : preparing teens for interviews

Library Collections

Use the tabs above to navigate to specific library resources for a career.

To the left are the Student Success Center's collection of career resources, links to outside websites that have career information, and library test prep manuals.

To the right are the contact information for Arlene Burgess, Career Specialist in the Academic Success Center, and Tim Held, who created this library guide.

 

The Library has many books that can give you information about a career.  

  • search the catalog for books using a keyword from the career (for example, pharmacist or high school teacher)
  • search the catalog for biographies of people who have inspirational careers (for example, Barak Obama, Francis Crick, or Bill Gates)

News or discipline articles in databases can give career insights.

  • It's easy to search across several databases at once through the big red search box on the library homepage
  • The general article database Academic Search Premier has popular and scholarly articles from across the disciplines
  • Proquest News has newspaper reportage that often gives insights into careers

 

We recommend these reference books, some of which are online, others in print in the reference collection (behind the reference desk)

  • Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance.  Reference HF5381 .E52 2011

Need Ideas? Start Here!

List of titles for help in getting and keeping a career, including titles in specific jobs.

 

 

Academic Success Center Careers Specialist Arlene Burgess

[Arlene's Picture]

Arlene Burgess
[Title]

[location]

[email]

[blurb about expertise]


Emergency InformationAccessibility
Campus Home
Search this Site
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map