This is the "Home" page of the "Children's Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Children's Literature  

This collection is representative of literature for preschoolers to young adults.
Last Updated: Apr 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.csustan.edu/childlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Collection

The Library has a representative collection of literature written for children and young adults. Intended to be useful for teachers and students working with children and young adults, this collection consists of:

  • Picture and story books
  • Folklore and folktales
  •  Young adult literature
  • Non-fiction such as biographies, math and science materials
  • Graphic novels

Some secondary sources, such as lists of best books, books about children's authors and illustrators, reviews, and selection aids are also included in the collection.

 

Where are these materials located?

The Children's Collection is located on the main floor of the library, right in the middle of the information commons area. This collection uses the  Dewey Decimal Classification scheme, the system that is used most often in school and public libraries.

The major call numbers are

  •  FIC (fiction)
  • BIOG (biography) 
  • EASY (picture books)
  • 000-999 for nonfiction

 

 

Recent Arrivals

Cover Art
Ancient computing technology : from abacuses to water clocks - Michael Woods and Mary B. Woods
Call Number: 510.28 WOO Children's Collection
Publication Date: 2011
Learn about some of the earliest computers including water clocks and the Pascal counting machine.

Finding Children's Literature

CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip