American Collections
- Library of Congress: Digital Collections & ProgramsDigitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books.
- Yale University Library: Digital CollectionsPortions of the collection are unavailable from off campus, but the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library collection is accessible and has a wide variety of material.
- Columbia University Digital ScriptoriumDatabase of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.
- Harvard College Library: Digital CollectionsHistorical photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, books, music scores, rare maps and other rare and unique materials.
Comments (0)
British Collections
- The British Museum: Collection Database SearchSearches almost two million objects, more than six hundred thousand of which have images. To limit to images, check the "Images only" box to the right of the search box.
- The British Library Digital Catalogue of Illuminated ManuscriptsDescriptions and images of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the British Library.
- Bodlein Library: Oxford Digital CollectionSearch or browse the collections.
- Digitised Images from the Bodleian Libraries Special CollectionsHere's another way to search the Bodlein Library's digital collection.
- Cambridge Digital LibraryImages of several of their important collections available online.
Other Resources
- Early English Books OnlineEarly English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Click "Search" and then "Advanced." From there you can limit by language and country of origin. - GoogleThe word "digital" seems to be a good word to combine with other search terms to bring up digital collections and repositories.
For example:
medieval manuscripts digital
american history digital
Explore and enjoy! - Google Books: Advanced SearchTry limiting to "Full View Only" and setting your date range under "Publication Date."
From there, try keyword searches on your topic, starting with simple search terms. - Medieval Cookery: Online CookbooksA list of texts freely available online relating to medieval food and cooking from the years 800 to 1600.
- Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts ArchiveContains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
- Index to the Lady Lucy Cavendish Diary BlogThis Victorian diary spans from Lady Cavendish’s early childhood memories until the death of her husband in May 1882.
- National Library of Australia: Digital CollectionsDigitized pictures, rare historical maps, early Australian printed music, manuscripts belonging to famous Australians, selected printed works from our Australian and overseas collections, and selected audio recordings of oral history and folklore items.
- Nines: Nineteenth-Century Scholarship OnlineNINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.
- The Interactive Nolli Map of RomeThe 1748 Map of Rome, by Giambattista Nolli is widely regarded by scholars as one of the most important historical documents of the city ever created. This project is a collaborative exploration of the exquisite Nolli engraving, through its historic significance and contemporary application
Librarian Liaison |
Ask a Librarian
- For further assistance, Ask a Librarian!Research consultations at the library reference desk, via telephone, e-mail, chat, and by appointment.


Loading...
