LibGuides: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias are available digitally through the University Library:

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedia and dictionary entries defining and introducing topics in all disciplines.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works in the arts, biography, business, education, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and social science.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference provides access to digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Results will range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
CSU Stanislaus has a 1 simultaneous user license to this resource. If you encounter an error message that says the title is in use, please try again in 15-30 minutes.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Basic encyclopedia compiling over 25,000 entries on general topics.

The following is a OneSearch catalog search with results of encyclopedias available physically in the University library:

The following are encyclopedia resources available online:

Encyclopedia.com
Encyclopedia.com has more than 100 trusted sources, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and thesauruses with facts, definitions, biographies, synonyms, pronunciation keys, word origins, and abbreviations.
Wikipedia
The Free Encyclopedia

Ask your Librarian! Librarians are available in person, via online chat, via email, by appointment, and by phone. Please contact us if you need further assistance with your research.