Skip to main content

EDGS 5510: Introduction to Educational Research: Home

Ask a Librarian

For further assistance, Ask a Librarian!

Research consultations at the library reference desk, via telephone, e-mail, chat, text, and by appointment.

Stockton Students

To request materials from Turlock, click the Stockton Library Services home page.

Click Materials from Main Library (Sent from Turlock) and complete the request form.

Materials are delivered to Stockton in two working days.

To obtain materials from other libraries, click Materials not owned by Library (via Interlibrary Loan) and complete the request form.

Materials are delivered in approximately 3-5 working days (books from out of state may take longer).

You will be notified in your campus e-mail when the items are available to pick up in Stockton.

Finding Articles

 ERIC database logo       EBSCOHost database logo        CQ Researcher database logo         Physical Education Index database logo                         

Search ERIC for journal articles and non-journal literature (documents) in Education.

  • For a more precise search, use the online thesaurus for vocabulary to represent the concepts of your research topic.
  • Place each unique concept in a separate row. Use AND to connect concepts (for example, bilingual education AND qualitative research). Both concepts will be present in your results.
  • Search separately for journal articles and non-journal literature by limiting your results to journal articles (EJ) or to documents (ED).
  • Limit your results to peer reviewed for abstracts from scholarly publications.

Other selected databases with scholarly journal articles on educational topics include: Education Full Text, Academic Search Premier, Physical Education Index, PsycINFO, and Web of Science.

For research on controversial topics, CQ Researcher provides a weekly report on a key national issue. A number of reports cover topics in Education. Reports include a pro/con section.

To determine if a journal is available in full text in a database, search by journal title or ISSN using the Journals A-Z link on the library's home page.

Search for a citation using a Digital Object Identifier (doi).

Electronic journals in Education.

Other databases

Retrieving Full Text Articles

To retrieve a full text article, click one of these icons:

        PDF Full Text logo 

        HTML Full Text logo

 

Click Find It! to determine if an article is available in full text in another library database or in print in the University Library.

          Find It logo

 

Use Interlibrary Loan's online request form for copies of articles from other libraries. Articles often arrive in 1-3 working days.

Finding Articles on the Internet

Google search engine logo

Google Scholar is a good resource for scholarly articles available online.

To access articles from library databases, click settings, library links, then search CSU Stanislaus. Check all boxes for CSU Stanislaus and Open WorldCat library search. Articles available in full text in a library database or via open access will include a pdf link on the right side of the list of results.

Google Scholar search tips.

About Google Scholar.

Finding Books & More

OneSearch logo: Articles, books, and media from Stanislaus State Library                                    

 

Step 1: Use OneSearch to find books, electronic books, theses, DVDs, and more from the University Library. Log in when prompted for links to electronic content.

CSU+ logo: Request books and media from other CSU libraries

Step 2: CSU+ enables you to find and request books and media online from other CSU campus libraries. Delivery in 2-4 working days. Log in when prompted to place your request.

 

WorldCat database logo

Step 3: Use WorldCat to find books and more from libraries across the country. Request online using the Interlibrary Loan request form. Delivery in approximately 3-5 working days (books from out of state may take longer).

 

Encyclopedia of Education   Encyclopedias providing an introduction to topics in Education.

Other library catalogs

Librarian Liaison for Education

Warren Jacobs
University Library

Stanoislaus State Library entrance

Research consultations, questions on APA format, and thesis/project and dissertation guidelines.

Office hours by appointment.
Send Email

Finding Theses & Dissertations

How to Write a Master's Thesis    

Thesis and dissertation guides available from the University Library.

Use ProQuest Dissertations and Theses for online access to full-text dissertations and theses in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Use OneSearch to find theses, projects, and dissertations in Education by searching Stanislaus Graduate Theses and Dissertations and using the limits on the left side of the screen to identify potential subjects. Log in when prompted for links to electronic content.

Video Tutorials

ERIC tutorials created by Reed Library, SUNY at Fredonia and used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommerical 4.0 International License.

ERIC Overview
ERIC Thesaurus
ERIC  Keyword Search
ERIC Empirical Research

Academic Search Premier, ERIC, Education Full Text, and PsycInfo tutorials created by EBSCO Training.

Subject Terms
Basic Search
Advanced Search
Search Alerts

Saving Results: My Folder

ProQuest Dissertations and Physical Education Index tutorials created by ProQuest Training.

Thesaurus
Advanced Search
Search Results
Publication Search and Search Alerts

Other video tutorials.

Research Guides

Developing a Search Strategy Tips on searching more efficiently and effectively.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources Distinguishing between scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

ERIC Documents Tips on identifying and retrieving non-journal literature using the ERIC database.

Tests and Measurements Tests, reviews, and resources for finding testing instruments.

Education research guide.

Other research guides


Contact UsEmergency InformationAccessibilityCampus Home
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382