Instructor: Dr. Arnold Schmidt
Last Updated: Dec 17, 2012
- Library of Congress: Digital Collections & Programs
Digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books.
- Yale University Library: Digital Collections
Portions of the collection are unavailable from off campus, but the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library collection is accessible and has a wide variety of material.
- Columbia University Digital Scriptorium
Database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts.
- Harvard College Library: Digital Collections
Historical photographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, books, music scores, rare maps and other rare and unique materials.
- Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
Click "Search" and then "Advanced." From there you can limit by language and country of origin.
The word "digital" seems to be a good word to combine with other search terms to bring up digital collections and repositories.
medieval manuscripts digital
american history digital
Explore and enjoy!
- Google Books: Advanced Search
Try limiting to "Full View Only" and setting your date range under "Publication Date."
From there, try keyword searches on your topic, starting with simple search terms.
- Medieval Cookery: Online Cookbooks
A list of texts freely available online relating to medieval food and cooking from the years 800 to 1600.
- Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts Archive
Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
- Index to the Lady Lucy Cavendish Diary Blog
This Victorian diary spans from Lady Cavendish’s early childhood memories until the death of her husband in May 1882.
- National Library of Australia: Digital Collections
Digitized pictures, rare historical maps, early Australian printed music, manuscripts belonging to famous Australians, selected printed works from our Australian and overseas collections, and selected audio recordings of oral history and folklore items.
- Nines: Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online
NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) is a scholarly organization devoted to forging links between the material archive of the nineteenth century and the digital research environment of the twenty-first.
- The Interactive Nolli Map of Rome
The 1748 Map of Rome, by Giambattista Nolli is widely regarded by scholars as one of the most important historical documents of the city ever created. This project is a collaborative exploration of the exquisite Nolli engraving, through its historic significance and contemporary application