LibGuides: English Language & Literature: Books

Searching for Books

To find books located in the CSU Stanislaus Library or in digital format, change the dropdown menu on OneSearch from “Everything” to “Books & Media Stanislaus.”
Books and media items available on campus will have a location designation of "CSU Stanislaus Library." A librarian or library staff member can help you find books in Library Research Help Desk.
To find additional resources available in all California State University Libraries, change the dropdown menu to “Books and Media, CSU +

CSU+ is an online borrowing system available to all faculty, students, and staff at CSU Stanislaus. Books will be delivered to the library at Turlock or Stockton in 2-3 days. More information about CSU+ can be found here.

Librarians are skilled at helping students find books and articles needed for research. If you are not finding what you need, ASK!

ACLS Humanities eBook Collection

ACLS History & Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 5,000 titles in history and related humanities.

Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Early English Books This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Includes titles in the STC I (Pollard and Redgrave, 1475-1640), Wing (STC II, 1641-1700) and Thomason catalogs

Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Reference Books

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism This link opens in a new window
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Reference Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference provides access to digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Results will range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
CSU Stanislaus has a 1 simultaneous user license to this resource. If you encounter an error message that says the title is in use, please try again in 15-30 minutes.
CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedia and dictionary entries defining and introducing topics in all disciplines.
Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to nearly eight decades worth of literary critique, evaluation, and thought. With book summaries, abstracts, and citations for adult and juvenile fiction and nonfiction, Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 is a one-of-a-kind resource for literary and biographical research.

More Book Resources

Interlibrary Loan
Materials found in WorldCat and not available at Stan State or CSU+ may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Advanced interfaced allowing precision searching of the world's largest bibliographic database of books and other materials cataloged by libraries.

WorldCat (via public interface)
Database of library collections around the world.

Need Help?

Ask your Librarian! Librarians are available in person, via online chat, via email, by appointment, and by phone. Please contact us if you need further assistance with your research.