LibGuides: HIST 4960: Senior Seminar: Books

OneSearch: Stanislaus

OneSearch: Books & Media (CSU Stanislaus) This link opens in a new window
Search for titles of books, videos, CDs and more available in the University Library

When OneSearch is limited to Books & Media - CSU Stanislaus, it serves as a "library catalog" searching for "published titles" owned by CSU Stanislaus.

Common Locations for CSU Stanislaus Books

Main collection - physical books shelved in the library's compact shelving (1st floor)
Online Access / ebook collection (name) - online scholarly ebooks (300,000 titles
Reading Room - books shelved in the library's new/current book shelves (1st floor)

OneSearch: CSU+

CSU+ (via OneSearch) This link opens in a new window
Resources available from other CSU campuses (via OneSearch).
Search for a specific title (or books on a topic) and submit the request form (CSU Stanislaus ID required) to access 8 million books and resources from 23 CSU campus libraries around the state.

The CSU+ portion of OneSearch searches for physical books and similar materials held at 23 California State University campuses around the state. Includes several million titles. More information about CSU+ can be found here.

Use the CSU+ request link found on the OneSearch item record for a book available via CSU+
Most books arrive in 2-4 business days.

WorldCat: Books across the Nation

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
World's largest bibliographic database of books and other materials held in libraries around the nation (and selected libraries around the world). Most books and many other titles listed in WorldCat can be retrieved via Interlibrary Loan.
Use the Find It! button and Interlibrary Loan to request books be sent to the University Library (usually available in 5-7 working days).
WorldCat (via FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Advanced interfaced allowing precision searching of the world's largest bibliographic database of books and other materials cataloged by libraries.

The WorldCat database includes the holdings (150 million publication titles) of most academic and research libraries in the United States, as well as many public and special libraries. It also includes the holdings of selected research libraries around the world (especially in Europe).

Interlibrary Loan
Materials found in WorldCat and not available at Stan State or CSU+ may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.

Library Catalogs

"Library Catalogs" traditionally list "published volumes" only. In practice, this means they include the titles of a "bound volume," but usually not the individual articles or entries within a volume (like a journal or book). Use them to search for:

Books
Government Documents
Media (videos, DVDs, CDs)
Theses and Dissertations
Maps, microfilm

For journals, "library catalogs" usually list the names and years (or volumes) owned by a library, but not the individual articles.

Catalog for CSU Stanislaus Library

OneSearch: Books & Media Stanislaus

Catalog of 23 CSU Campus Libraries:

CSU+

Catalog for most U.S. Libraries

WorldCat

Need Help?

Ask your Librarian! Librarians are available in person, via online chat, via email, by appointment, and by phone. Please contact us if you need further assistance with your research.

eBooks & Books Online

ACLS History & Humanities E-Books This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 5,000 titles in history and related humanities.
Early English Books This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Includes titles in the STC I (Pollard and Redgrave, 1475-1640), Wing (STC II, 1641-1700) and Thomason catalogs