Skip to main content

KINS 3100: Foundations, History, Philosophy of PE: Home

Ask a Librarian

For further assistance, Ask a Librarian!

Research consultations at the library reference desk, via telephone, e-mail, chat, text, and by appointment.

Professional Associations

SHAPE America SHAPE America provides comprehensive resources, support, and programs to help practitioners improve their skills and further the health and well-being of the American public.

 

California Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance CAHPERD promotes healthful lifestyles through quality education and leadership to school, community, and statewide programs in the areas of health, physical education, recreation, dance, and other movement-related programs.

Video Tutorials

Academic Search Premier, Social Sciences Full Text, and ERIC tutorials created by EBSCO Training.

Subject Terms
Basic Search
Advanced Search
Search Alerts

Saving Results: My Folder

ProQuest Physical Education Index tutorials created by ProQuest Training.

Thesaurus
Advanced Search
Search results
Publication search and search alerts

ERIC tutorials created by Reed Library, SUNY at Fredonia and used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommerical 4.0 International License.

ERIC Overview
ERIC Thesaurus
ERIC  Keyword Search
ERIC Empirical Research

Other video tutorials.

Finding Articles in JOPERD

To browse for online articles in JOPERD:

  • Perform a journal search by title in One Search for Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance
  • Click the title of the journal to view the holdings in the library.
  • Log in when prompted to access electronic content.
  • Click the Taylor and Francis link to see the list of available issues from 1997-present.
  • Browse the list of issues to find the volume and issue that contains the desired article.
  • Click the pdf link for the full text article.

To search for a specific online article in JOPERD:

  • Academic Search Premier indexes abstracts (summaries) of Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (JOPERD).
  • Use and to connect concepts of your research topic (for example, children and physical fitness). Both concepts will be present in your results.
  • Click the arrow for Select a Field for a dropdown menu. Select SO Journal Name. Type Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance into the search box.
  • Limit the current search to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed Journals) to retrieve results from scholarly journals. You may also limit by publication date.
  • The subject terms displayed towards the top of the screen can give you ideas for other search terms to refine your search.
  • Use linked full text to access the article pdf file.
  • Another option to retrieve the full text article is to browse the Taylor and Francis link to locate the specific volume and issue with the article you need, then manually download the pdf file.

More information about the journal can be found on the JOPERD home page.

Retrieving Full Text Articles

To retrieve a full text article, click one of these icons:

         

        HTML Full-Text

 

Click Find It! to determine if an article is available in full text in another library database or in print in the University Library.

         

 

Use Interlibrary Loan's online request form for copies of articles from other libraries. Articles often arrive in 1-3 working days.

Finding Articles and More

                                            

For journal articles in Kinesiology, use the most comprehensive database, Physical Education Index.

  • For a more precise search, use the online thesaurus for vocabulary to represent the concepts of your research topic.
  • Place each unique concept in a separate row. Use AND to connect concepts (for example, exercise AND lifestyle changes). Both concepts will be present in your results.
  • Limit your results to peer reviewed for abstracts from scholarly publications.

For journal articles on research topics related to health and nursing, use CINAHL Plus with Full Text or Academic Search Premier.

Search ERIC for journal articles and non-journal literature on physical education in a school setting.

For journal articles on the sociological implications of sport, use Social Sciences Full Text or Sociological Abstracts.

For research on controversial topics, CQ Researcher provides a weekly report on a key national issue including a pro/con section.

Other databases

Finding Articles on the Internet

Google Scholar is a good resource for scholarly articles available online.

To access articles from library databases, click settings, library links, then search CSU Stanislaus. Check all boxes for CSU Stanislaus and Open WorldCat library search. Articles available in full text in a library database or via open access will include a pdf link on the right side of the list of results.

Google Scholar search tips.

About Google Scholar.

Librarian Liaison for Education

Warren Jacobs
University Library

Research consultations, questions on APA format, and thesis/project and dissertation guidelines.

Office hours by appointment.
Send Email

Library Services

Library services for undergraduate students.

Finding Books and More

                                 

 

Step 1: Use OneSearch to find books, electronic books, theses, DVDs, and more from the University Library. Log in when prompted for links to electronic content.

Step 2: CSU+ enables you to find and request books and media online from other CSU campus libraries. Delivery in 2-4 working days. Log in when prompted to place your request.

 

 

Step 3: Use WorldCat to find books and more from libraries across the country. Request online using the Interlibrary Loan request form. Delivery in approximately 3-5 working days (books from out of state may take longer).

 

  

Encyclopedias providing an introduction to topics in Education.

Other library catalogs

Research Guides

Developing a Search Strategy Tips on searching more efficiently and effectively.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources Distinguishing between scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

ERIC Documents Tips on identifying and retrieving non-journal literature using the ERIC database.

Tests and Measurements Tests, reviews, and resources for finding testing instruments.

Kinesiology research guide.

Content Standards and Curriculum Frameworks from the California Department of Education.

Other research guides


Contact UsEmergency InformationAccessibilityCampus Home
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382