Skip to main content

KINS 3700: Sport in Society: Home

Ask a Librarian

For further assistance, Ask a Librarian!

Research consultations at the library reference desk, via telephone, e-mail, chat, text, and by appointment.

Library Services

Library services for undergraduate students.

Finding Articles

ERIC database logo         EBSCOHost database logo            CQ Researcher database logo             Physical Education Index database logo           

A good starting point for scholarly journal articles on your research topic is Academic Search Premier.

For journal articles on research topics in physical education and kinesiology, use the most comprehensive database, Physical Education Index.

  • For a more precise search, use the online thesaurus for vocabulary to represent the concepts of your research topic.
  • Place each unique concept in a separate row. Use AND to connect concepts (for example, exercise AND lifestyle changes). Both concepts will be present in your results.
  • Limit your results to peer reviewed for abstracts from scholarly publications.

For journal articles on research topics related to health and nursing, use CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Search ERIC for journal articles and non-journal literature on physical education in a school setting.

For journal articles on the sociological implications of sport, use Social Sciences Full Text or Sociological Abstracts.

For research on controversial topics, CQ Researcher provides a weekly report on a key national issue including a pro/con section.

Other databases

Retrieving Full Text Articles

To retrieve a full text article, click:

        PDF Full Text logo 

          HTML Full Text logo

 

Click Find It! to determine if an article is available in full text in another library database or in print in the University Library.

          Find It logo

Use Interlibrary Loan's online request form for copies of articles from other libraries. Articles often arrive in 1-3 working days.

Finding Articles on the Internet

Google search engine logo

Google Scholar is a good resource for scholarly articles available online.

To access articles from library databases, click settings, library links, then search CSU Stanislaus. Check all boxes for CSU Stanislaus and Open WorldCat library search. Articles available in full text in a library database or via open access will include a pdf link on the right side of the list of results.

Google Scholar search tips.

About Google Scholar.

Finding Books and More

OneSearch logo: Articles, books, and media from Stanislaus State Library                                   

 

Step 1: Use OneSearch to find books, electronic books, theses, DVDs, and more from the University Library. Log in when prompted for links to electronic content.

CSU+ logo: Request books and media from other CSU libraries

Step 2: CSU+ enables you to find and request books and media online from other CSU campus libraries. Delivery in 2-4 working days. Log in when prompted to place your request.

 

WorldCat database logo

Step 3: Use WorldCat to find books and more from libraries across the country. Request online using the Interlibrary Loan request form. Delivery in approximately 3-5 working days (books from out of state may take longer).

 

Encyclopedia of Education  

Encyclopedias providing an introduction to topics in Education.

Other library catalogs

Librarian Liaison for Education

Warren Jacobs
University Library

Stanislaus State Library entrance

Research consultations, questions on APA format, and thesis/project and dissertation guidelines.

Office hours by appointment.
Send Email

Video Tutorials

Academic Search Premier, CINAHL Plus, Social Sciences Full Text, and ERIC tutorials created by EBSCO Training.

Subject Terms
Basic Search
Advanced Search
Search Alerts

Saving Results: My Folder

ProQuest Physical Education Index tutorials created by ProQuest Training.

Thesaurus
Advanced Search
Search results
Publication search and search alerts

ERIC tutorials created by Reed Library, SUNY at Fredonia and used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommerical 4.0 International License.

ERIC Overview
ERIC Thesaurus
ERIC  Keyword Search
ERIC Empirical Research

Other video tutorials.

Research Guides

Developing a Search Strategy Tips on searching more efficiently and effectively.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources Distinguishing between scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

ERIC Documents Tips on identifying and retrieving non-journal literature using the ERIC database.

Tests and Measurements Tests, reviews, and resources for finding testing instruments.

Kinesiology research guide.

Content Standards and Curriculum Frameworks from the California Department of Education.

Other research guides


Contact UsEmergency InformationAccessibilityCampus Home
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382