Skip to main content

KINS 4300: Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Education: Home

Ask a Librarian

For further assistance, Ask a Librarian!

Research consultations at the library reference desk, via telephone, e-mail, chat, text, and by appointment.

APA Format

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.). BF76.7 .P83 2010

APA Format: Basic Examples

APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue OWL)

APA Sample Paper (Purdue OWL)

APA Vidcasts (Purdue OWL)

Other Citation Styles

Research Guides

Developing a Search Strategy Tips on searching more efficiently and effectively.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources Distinguishing between scholarly journals and popular periodicals.

ERIC Documents Tips on identifying and retrieving non-journal literature using the ERIC database.

Tests and Measurements Tests, reviews, and resources for finding testing instruments.

Kinesiology research guide.

Content Standards and Curriculum Frameworks from the California Department of Education.

Other research guides

Finding Articles & More

ERIC database logo         EBSCOHost database logo            CQ Researcher database logo             Physical Education Index database logo           

Search Academic Search Premier or Physical Education Index for journal articles on topics in physical education and kinesiology. Select peer-reviewed for articles based on a research study. For a more precise search, use the subject terms from the thesaurus for vocabulary to represent the concepts of your research topic. Use and to connect concepts (for example, soccer players and motor ability testing). Both concepts will be present in your results.  

Other databases with scholarly journal articles: CINAHL Plus with Full Text for research topics relating to health and nursing, ERIC for physical education in a school setting, Social Sciences Full Text for the sociological implications of sport, and PsycINFO for research topics in psychology.

For research on controversial topics, CQ Researcher provides a weekly report on a key national issue including a pro/con section.

Other databases

Retrieving Full Text Articles

To retrieve a full text article, click:

        PDF Full Text logo 

          HTML Full Text logo

 

Click Find It! to determine if an article is available in full text in another library database or in print in the University Library.

          Find It logo

Use Interlibrary Loan's online request form for copies of articles from other libraries. Articles often arrive in 1-3 working days.

Online Journals in Kinesiology

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, & Dance (JOPERD)

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance is a peer-reviewed, professional journal with information on motor skills, improving fitness, and pursuing physical activity and sport participation safely and appropriately.

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport is a comprehensive professional journal offering the latest research in the art and science of human movement studies.

Librarian Liaison for Education

Warren Jacobs
University Library

Stanislaus State Library entrance

Research consultations, questions on APA format, and thesis/project and dissertation guidelines.

Office hours by appointment.
Send Email

Library Services

Library services for undergraduate students.

Video Tutorials

Academic Search Premier, CINAHL Plus, Social Sciences Full Text, and ERIC tutorials created by EBSCO Training.

Subject Terms
Basic Search
Advanced Search
Search Alerts

Saving Results: My Folder

ProQuest Physical Education Index tutorials created by ProQuest Training.

Thesaurus
Advanced Search
Search results
Publication search and search alerts

ERIC tutorials created by Reed Library, SUNY at Fredonia and used under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommerical 4.0 International License.

ERIC Overview
ERIC Thesaurus
ERIC  Keyword Search
ERIC Empirical Research

Other video tutorials.


Contact UsEmergency InformationAccessibilityCampus Home
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382