Articles - KINS 4350: Measurement and Evaluation in Exercise Science - Professor Herring

Online Journals in Kinesiology

Note: Continuous keyword searching in Taylor & Francis removes the filter for the journal. When keyword searching, please check the limiter: Only show content I have full access to.

Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise by L. Bruce Gladden (Editor-in-Chief)
Find investigations, reviews, and clinical studies on topics in sports medicine and exercise science.
Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport by Mark Williams (Editor-in-Chief)
A comprehensive professional journal offering the latest research in the art and science of human movement studies.
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (JOPERD) by Thomas Lawson (Editor)
A peer-reviewed, professional journal with information on motor skills, improving fitness, and pursuing physical activity and sport participation safely and appropriately.

Finding Articles & More

Search Academic Search Premier for journal articles on exercise science measurements. Select peer-reviewed for articles based on a research study. For a more precise search, use the subject terms for vocabulary to represent the concepts of your research topic.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary, full-text database offering full-text articles, including peer-reviewed titles; also includes indexing and abstracts. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

Other databases with scholarly journal articles:

For journal articles on research topics related to exercise science and evaluation, use CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® Plus is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL® Plus is a core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
CINAHL® Plus also provides indexing for more than 5,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 4 million records dating back to 1937.

Search ERIC for journal articles and non-journal literature on physical fitness measurements and evaluation in a school setting.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) - Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. (provided via EBSCO)
When provided by ERIC, there are links to the ERIC full text or links to other sources such as publisher websites or DOIs.

For journal articles on the sociological implications of exercise science, use Social Sciences Full Text or Sociological Abstracts.

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. It includes full text of articles from journals dating as far back as 1995 and indexing and abstracts of periodicals dating as far back as 1983, which includes peer-reviewed resources covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Subject coverage includes addiction studies, anthropology, community health & medical care, communications, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, international relations, law, mass media, minority studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, social work, urban studies and much more.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations as well as citations to book reviews.

Search PsycINFO for the psychological effect of exercise science on health.

PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo provides access to abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is provides peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, and contains citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s.
APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®. Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.

Getting the Text of Articles

Searching a database will provide citations to scholarly journal articles and other scientific research.

To access the full-article, look for links to:

If there are no full-text links, use Find It! to see if article is available in another library subscription.

Need Help?

Ask your Librarian! Librarians are available in person, via online chat, via email, by appointment, and by phone. Please contact us if you need further assistance with your research.