Skip to main content

LIBS 3200: Foundations of Education in a Diverse Society: Home

Ask a Librarian

For further assistance, Ask a Librarian!

Research consultations at the library reference desk, via telephone, e-mail, chat, text, and by appointment.

APA Format and Annotated Bibliographies

Tutorials and Research Guides

Education research guide.

Online video tutorials for library resources in Education including ERIC and Academic Search Premier.

ERIC Documents Tips on identifying and retrieving non-journal literature using the ERIC database.

Developing a Search Strategy Tips on searching more efficiently and effectively.

Scholarly vs. Popular Sources Distinguishing between scholarly journals and popular magazines.

Primary versus Secondary Sources Attributes of primary and secondary sources.

Library Services

Library services for undergraduate students.

Stockton Students

To request materials from Turlock, click the Stockton Library Services home page.

Click Materials from Main Library (Sent from Turlock) to place your request.

Materials are delivered to Stockton in two working days.

To obtain materials from other libraries, click Materials not owned by Library (via Interlibrary Loan) and complete the request form.

Materials are delivered Delivery in approximately 3-5 working days (books from out of state may take longer).

You will be notified in your campus e-mail when the items are available to pick up in Stockton.

Finding Articles

                                                           

Search ERIC for journal articles and non-journal literature (documents) in Education.

  • For a more precise search, use the online thesaurus for vocabulary to represent the concepts of your research topic.
  • Place each unique concept in a separate row. Use AND to connect concepts (for example, bilingual education AND qualitative research). Both concepts will be present in your results.
  • Search separately for journal articles and non-journal literature by limiting your results to journal articles (EJ) or documents (ED).
  • Limit your results to peer reviewed for abstracts from scholarly publications.

Other databases with scholarly journal articles on educational topics:  Education Full Text and Academic Search Premier.

For research on controversial topics, CQ Researcher provides a weekly report on a key national issue in Education including a pro/con section.

To determine if a journal is available in full text in a database, search by journal title or ISSN using the Browse Journals A-Z link in OneSearch.

Search for a citation using a Digital Object Identifier (doi).

Other databases

Retrieving Full Text Articles

To retrieve a full text article, click:

         

          HTML Full-Text

 

Click Find It! to determine if an article is available in full text in another library database or in print in the University Library.

         

Use Interlibrary Loan's online request form for copies of articles from other libraries. Articles often arrive in 1-3 working days.

Finding Articles on the Internet

Google Scholar is a good resource for scholarly articles available online.

To access articles from library databases, click settings, library links, then search CSU Stanislaus. Check all boxes for CSU Stanislaus and Open WorldCat library search. Articles available in full text in a library database or via open access will include a pdf link on the right side of the list of results.

Google Scholar search tips.

About Google Scholar.

Finding Books and More

Step 1: Use OneSearch (Library Catalog) to find books, electronic books, theses, DVDs, and more from the University Library. Log in when prompted for links to electronic content.

 

 

Step 2: CSU+ enables you to find and request books and media online from other CSU campus libraries. Delivery in 2-4 working days. Log in when prompted to place your request.

 

Step 3: Use WorldCat to find books and more from libraries across the country. Request online using the Interlibrary Loan request form. Delivery in approximately 3-5 working days (books from out of state may take longer).

 

   Encyclopedias providing an introduction to topics in Education.

Other library catalogs

Librarian Liaison for Education

Warren Jacobs
University Library

Research consultations, questions on APA format, and thesis/project and dissertation guidelines.

Office hours by appointment.
Send Email

Primary Source Teaching Materials

Calisphere Primary sources, images, and themed collections to support the California and national content standards.

American Memory Project Access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Primary Source Sets help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources.

Teaching Resources

University Library Children's Literature Collection including multicultural and LGBT themed literature.

Lesson Plans from the ERIC database of educational resources.

DVDs and videos on teaching from the University Library.

English Language Arts and Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects Common Core State Standards from the California Department of Education.

Mathematics Common Core State Standards from the California Department of Education.

Common Core Teaching Resources from the University Library.

Content Standards and Curriculum Frameworks from the California Department of Education.


Emergency InformationAccessibility
Campus Home
Search this Site
CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map