The Library Annex Collection is the collection to stay on campus during the two-year period when the University Library building is undergoing a major renovation. The Collection includes approximately 25,000 volumes/issues of books, journal issues, items from the Children’s Collection, the Music Compact Disc (CD) Collection and the Video Collection. The Library Annex Collection is located in Library Annex (LX) 25.
The Library’s Main Collection includes over 300,000 books. Due to the Library Renovation currently underway, a majority of the Collection is in remote storage and will not be accessible until summer 2021. Please see the Library Annex Collection for available Collections during the Library Renovation.
The Reference Collection contains many scholarly encyclopedias, handbooks, statistical compilations, and other reference books. Most of the library's article and research indexes are now available in databases online. The Reference Collection is shelved by Library of Congress call number in the Library Annex (LX) 25.
The library's online subscriptions provide access to over 30,000 periodicals online, including 12,000 titles (mostly peer-reviewed journals) from scholarly collections, as well as an additional 20,000+ magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and other non-scholarly periodical titles. Search for electronic journals via our online databases.
The library maintains nearly 500 current subscriptions to print periodicals. The Periodicals Collection also houses older issues of an additional 1,500 titles in print and/or microfilm formats. Due to the Library Renovation currently underway, journal issues published prior to summer 2019 are in remote storage and will not be accessible until summer 2021. Print journal issues published since summer 2019 are available in Library Annex (LX) 25.
The Library has been a selective depository of U.S. and California government documents since 1965 and also collects selective publications issued by local area government agencies from the University's six-county service area (Amador, Calaveras, Mariposa, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne counties). The U.S. documents are shelved according to the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification scheme which has the effect of grouping publications by issuing agency; California State documents are shelved according to a similar scheme for the State of California; Local documents are shelved according to a locally derived classification scheme primarily by area.
Due to the Library Building Renovation currently underway, government documents in print format were sent to remote storage and will not be accessible until summer 2021. In recent years, many government publications are being made available electronically. For assistance in finding and using government publications available in digital format, consult a librarian at the Reference Desk in Library Annex (LX) 25.
Click here to be directed to the Government Resources Guide (this link will open in a new window).
The Library has a representative collection of literature written for children, primarily preschool to Grade 6; this collection consists of picture books, fiction, and non-fiction. It is intended for the use of students in teacher education and children's literature courses as well as those preparing for related careers. Emphasis is placed on acquiring award-winning and special merit books, specifically Caldecott, Newberry, and Coretta Scott King award and honor books. In addition, significant secondary sources, such as best books, books about children's authors and illustrators, reviews, and selection aids are also included in the collection. The designation "Juv" in the call number indicates that the item is part of the Children's Collection. The Children's Collection is located in Library Annex (LX) 25.
Visit our online guide to the Children's Literature Collection for more information.
The Library acquires films in the video format and musical recordings as needed to support the curriculum. Compact discs (CDs) and videos are fully cataloged in OneSearch; and, CDs are cataloged according to the ANSCR (Alpha-Numeric System for Classification of Recordings) system. Visit Library Annex (LX) 25 to view the Audio & Music Collection.
Materials placed on Reserve by instructors for use by their students in conjunction with specific classes are housed in the Reserves collection. These materials range from photocopies of class notes to journal articles, and on rare occasions course textbooks. Circulation periods for these materials are determined by the instructors and range from two hours to one week. Course Reserves are located in Library Annex (LX) 25.
Special Collections & University Archives are closed until summer 2021 due to the Library Building Renovation.
The University Library Special Collections is a repository for primary research materials of interest to the campus, the community, and the Central Valley region. The primary purpose of Special Collections at Stanislaus State is to support faculty teaching and student learning and research. Collection strengths include local and regional history books and documents, local history manuscript collections, oral histories, Stanislaus County historical documents, and photographic collections.
The University Archives serves as a repository for materials documenting the history of California State University, Stanislaus and inlcudes retrospective campus publications such as newsletters, catalogs, press releases, photographs, The Signal student newspaper, campus yearbooks, as well as other documents and ephemera representing various campus entities.
Click here to be directed to the Special Collections Research Guide (this link will open in a new window)
The Library serves as a repository for all master's theses and doctoral dissertations written by CSU Stanislaus graduate students. To locate Stan State theses and dissertations, consult the Library’s online catalog OneSearch. Due to the Library Renovation currently underway, a majority of the theses and dissertations in print format are in remote storage and will not be accessible until summer 2021. Theses and dissertations submitted after 2013 are in electronic format and will continue to be accessible via OneSearch. For further assistance, consult a librarian at the Reference Desk in Library Annex (LX) 25.
The University Library welcomes monetary donations for the enrichment of teaching and research resources. Cash donations may be made via the Library’s Donate-a-Book program or by contacting the Dean of Library Services by email: firstname.lastname@example.org. Donors of monetary gifts may specify desired purposes for such funds with the approval of the Dean.
The University Library will consider non-monetary (in-kind) donations that support the University’s curriculum and are appropriate for the Library collections. Arrange for potential donations by listing items on the gift inquiry form, which will be sent to the Collection Development Committee and appropriate librarian subject selector. Potential donors will be contacted by the Library within a reasonable timeframe. The Library may decline gifts inappropriate for the library collections and reserves the right to determine the ultimate disposition of accepted gift items. (See Collection Development Policy, 3.1 Section Criteria & 3.2 Format, and 3.4 Special Collections.)