Health and Social Work by Janna C. Heyman (Editor)This new text illuminates the essential information about health and social work critical to understanding today's complex health care systems and policies. Chapters highlight current practice, policy, and research in different settings and with special populations. Readers learn how to advocate for the individuals, families, and communities they serve to help improve health and well-being for all. All those interested in micro, mezzo, and macro practices in a health care setting will appreciate this rich resource. Highlights include: Each chapter speaks to the interconnections between practice, policy, and research and how they are integrated to inform social work and health.Unique chapters dedicated to special populations such as children and families, older adults, immigrants, persons with HIV/AIDS, LGBTQ individuals, veterans, and people with disabilities provide a deeper understanding of the health care issues specific to these groups.Thorough coverage of the role of social workers in a variety of settings such as substance abuse, correctional systems, public health, and integrated behavioral health care.An in-depth discussion of the values and ethical issues in a health care environment.An intersectionality lens used throughout promotes a greater understanding of a client's multiple status of race, ethnicity, nationality, socioeconomic status, education level, religion, sexual orientation, and gender identification.Detailed case examples developed by professionals in the field in Parts II and III accompanied by discussion questions further enhance an understanding of the issues.Online instructor's resources including PowerPoints, discussion questions, case studies, and a sample syllabus. Intended as a core text for MSW and advanced BSW courses on health and social work, social work practice in health care, health and wellness, or integrative behavioral health taught in social work, public health, or gerontology programs, this book is also of value in social work practice courses that focus on health care and special populations. Social workers practicing in the health care field will also appreciate this book.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (online)
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
The Routledge Handbook of Critical Social Work by Stephen Webb (Editor)The Routledge Handbook of Critical Social Workbrings together the world's leading scholars in the field to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the subject. Comprised of 48 chapters divided into six parts: Historical, social, and political influences Mapping the theoretical and conceptual terrain Methods of engagement and modes of analysis Critical contexts for practice and policy Professional education and socialisation Future challenges, directions, and transformations it provides an authoritative guide to theory and method, and the primary debates of today in social work from a critical perspective. This handbook is a major reference work and the first book to comprehensively map the wide-ranging territory of critical social work. It does so by addressing its conceptual developments, its methodological advances, its value-based front-line practice and as an influence on the policy field. By offering a definitive survey of current academic knowledge as it relates to professional practice, it provides the first comprehensive, up-to-date, definitive work of reference while at the same time identifying emerging, innovative and cutting-edge areas.
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central (online)
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Evidence-Based Practice in School Mental Health by James C. Raines (Editor)Though schools have become the default mental health providers for children and adolescents, they are poorly equipped to meet the mental health needs of their students. Evidence-Based Practice in School Mental Health differs from other books that address child and adolescent psychopathology byfocusing on how to help students with mental disorders in pre-K-12th-grade schools. Chapters address the prevalence of a disorder in school-age populations, appropriate diagnostic criteria, differential diagnosis, comorbid disorders, available rapid assessment instruments, school-based interventionsusing multi-tiered systems of support, and easy-to-follow suggestions for progress monitoring.Additionally, the text shares detailed suggestions for how school-based clinicians can collaborate with teachers, parents, and community providers to address the needs of youth with mental health problems. Each chapter finishes with extensive web resources and real-life case examples drawn from the author's clinical practice. This book serves as a helpful resource for school-based mental health providers (e.g., school social workers, school psychologists, and school counselors), communities-in-schools coordinators, and MSW students focusing on child and adolescent mental health.
With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the Social Workers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research.
This Handbook is the world's first generic major reference work to provide an authoritative guide to the theory, method, and values of social work in one volume. Drawn from an international field of excellence, the contributors each offer a critical analysis of their individual area of expertise. The result is this invaluable resource collection that not only reflects upon the condition of social work today but also looks to future developments.
This Second Edition of the Oxford Handbook of Social Work in Health and Aging addresses the evolving interdisciplinary health care context and the broader social work practice environment, as well as advances in the knowledge base that guides social work service delivery in health and aging.